Ep 115: The Archibald winners
Listen now
If you’ve been listening to this podcast over the years, you would probably know I’m a self-confessed Archibald tragic. I'm fascinated by the depiction of the human face and figure in paint and that is exactly what the prize celebrates each year at the Art Gallery of NSW. The Archibald Prize is Australia's most famous portrait prize and is now in its 100th year. This episode is a compilation of clips from my conversations with Archibald winners where they talk about how they felt about winning, what it did for their career or about the painting itself. I've also included a clip from my conversation with biographer Scott Bevan where we talked about what was arguably the most controversial Archibald win - the 1943 winning portrait by William Dobell of fellow artist Joshua Smith. See below for a list of podcast guests, the year they won the prize and their portraits. Click on the name to go to the full interview. A video based on this episode will be posted to the Talking with Painters YouTube channel in a few weeks. Guy Warren  1985Davida Allen  1986Bill Robinson  1987 and 1995 Francis Giacco  1994Wendy Sharpe  1996Lewis Miller   1998Euan Macleod 1999Nicholas Harding  2001Del Kathryn Barton 2008 and 2013Guido Maestri 2009Ben Quilty 2011Tim Storrier  2012Louise Hearman 2016Vincent Namatjira 2020Peter Wegner 2021Scott Bevan'Archie 100' exhibition - Art Gallery of NSW Guy Warren ‘Flugelman with Wingman’, 1985, oil on canvas, 225 x 178cmWinner of the Archibald Prize 1985Image: Art Gallery of NSW website Davida Allen ‘Dr John Arthur Mckelvie Shera’, 1986, oil on canvas, 230.5 x 187cmWinner, 1986 Archibald Prize, AGNSWImage: Art Gallery of NSW website William Robinson  ‘Self-portrait with stunned mullet’, 1994, oil on linen, 197 x 164cmWinner Archibald Prize 1995QUT Art Collection. Donated through the Australian Government’s Cultural Gifts Program by William Robinson, 2011. William Robinson  ‘Equestrian self-portrait’, 1987, oil on linen, 141 x 192cmWinner Archibald Prize 1987QUT Art Collection. Donated through the Australian Government’s Cultural Gifts Program by William Robinson, 2011  Francis Giacco ‘Homage to John Reichard’ (1994) oil on marine ply 202cm x 188cmImage: Art Gallery of NSW website Wendy Sharpe: ‘Self portrait – as Diana of Erskineville’, 1996, oil on canvas, 210 x 172cm, winner of Archibald prize 1996.Image: Art Gallery of NSW website Lewis Miller: ‘Portrait of Allan Mitelman no 3’, 1998, oil and charcoal on canvas, 213.4 x 183cmImage: Art Gallery of NSW website Euan Macleod: ‘Self-portrait: head like a hole’ 1999 oil on canvas 180 x 137cmImage: Art Gallery of NSW website Nicholas Harding: ‘John Bell as King Lear’, 2001, oil on canvas on board, 177 x 105cm (winner Archibald Prize 2001)Image: Art Gallery of NSW website ‘you are what is most beautiful about me, a self portrait with Kell and Arella’ 2008, synthetic polymer paint, watercolour, gouache and pen on polyester canvas, 280 x 180cm (winner Archibald Prize 2008)Image: Art Gallery of NSW website ‘hugo’, 2013, watercolour, gouache and acrylic on canvas, 200 x 180cm (winner Archibald Prize 2013)Image: Art Gallery of NSW website Guido Maestri: ‘Dr Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu’, 2009, oil on linen, 203 x 172.4cmWinner Archibald Prize 2009, Art Gallery of NSWCollection: National Portrait Gallery, Australia Ben Quilty: ‘Margaret Olley’, 2011, oil on linen, 170 x 150cmWinner Archibald Prize 2011Photo: AGNSW Tim Storrier: The Histrionic Wayfarer (after Bosch),
More Episodes
Most artists remember their first show. Maybe they were lucky enough to sell a few works, usually to family and friends. Daniel Boyd remembers his. It was in the year he graduated from university, 2005, but family and friends didn’t stand a chance. The entire exhibition was bought by the National...
Published 07/03/22
Published 07/03/22
In 2010 Sam Leach won the Archibald and Wynne Prizes, two of Australia's most famous awards for portraiture and landscape painting, becoming only the third person in the prizes' history to win both in the same year. The two artists to achieve this rare distinction before him were 20th...
Published 06/13/22