OPERATION MINCEMEAT THE GREATEST INTELLIGENCE VICTORY OF WWII
Listen now
Description
In 1943, following the Battle of Tunisia, the Allies planned to attack Italy through Sicily- but Sicily was extremely well defended by Germany and the cost of men and materials could prove disastrous. We needed to make Hitler believe that the attack would come through the Greek islands and the Balkans. British intelligence, with the help of Lt. Commander Ian Fleming, who later would become the author of the James Bond novels- had what looked like a wild idea- to find a fresh corpse, give him an official identity and papers, and arrange to have him wash up on a beach in Spain, appearing to have died in a plane crash. It would take a mighty effort to fool the Nazis- but if it did- many thousands of death could be avoided.... ANDROID USERS- 1001 True Stories with Brian Tremblay https://open.spotify.com/episode/1EOZTL42pg0szYdYV7mwMC?si=SCPAOiSgQiyo0ZSO_OFDyw&nd=1&dlsi=012b3f28347743d5 1001 Greatest Love Stories with Erica Tippett https://open.spotify.com/show/5sUUFDVTatnGt7FiNQvSHe 1001 Classic Short Stories & Tales at Spotify https://open.spotify.com/show/6rzDb5uFdOhfw5X6P5lkWn 1001 Heroes, Legends, Histories & Mysteries at Spotify https://open.spotify.com/show/6rO7HELtRcGfV48UeP8aFQ 1001 Sherlock Holmes Stories & The Best of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle at Spotify https://open.spotify.com/show/4dIgYvBwZVTN5ewF0JPaTK 1001 History's Best Storytellers (Now Playing Archives Only: https://open.spotify.com/show/3QyZ1u4f9OLb9O32KX6Ghr 1001 Ghost Stories & Tales of the Macabre on Spotify https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-ghost-stories-tales-of-the-macabre/id1516332327 APPLE USERS New! 1001 True Stories with Brian Tremblay https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-true-stories-with-brian-tremblay/id1726451725 Catch 1001 Stories From The Old West- https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-stories-from-the-old-west/id1613213865 Catch 1001's Best of Jack London- https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-best-of-jack-london/id1656939169 Catch 1001 Radio Crime Solvers- https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-radio-crime-solvers/id1657397371 Catch 1001 Heroes, Legends, Histories & Mysteries on Apple https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-heroes-legends-histories-mysteries-podcast/id956154836?mt=2  Catch 1001 Classic Short Stories at Apple Podcast https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-classic-short-stories-tales/id1078098622 Catch 1001 Stories for the Road at Apple Podcast now:  https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-stories-for-the-road/id1227478901 Enjoy 1001 Greatest Love Stories on Apple Devices here: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-greatest-love-stories/id1485751552 Catch 1001 RADIO DAYS now at Apple iTunes!  https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-radio-days/id1405045413?mt=2 Enjoy 1001 Sherlock Holmes Stories and The Best of Arthur Conan Doyle https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-sherlock-holmes-stories-best-sir-arthur-conan/id1534427618 1001 History's Best Storytellers at Apple Podcast (Now Playing Archives Only: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-historys-best-storytellers/id1483649026 1001 Ghost Stories & Tales of the Macabre at Apple Podcast (Playing Archives Only) https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-ghost-stories-tales-of-the-macabre/id1516332327 8043 Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
More Episodes
The true story of the elite commando force which began it all- the First Special Service Force- comprised of Canadian and American troops whose job it was to break thru the impregnable Nazi "Winter Line" of defense in Italy- which they did, becoming a military legend, and earning the name 'The...
Published 04/12/24
In part two we discuss witness accounts of the tunnel accident, an ex- MI6 agents claim that Henri Paul was an MI6 operative, and much more. We focus on the story of Thanh Van Le, the driver of a white Fiat Uno who may well have caused the crash and whose picture was later identified at the...
Published 04/07/24