Ep. 272: Common Jiu-Jitsu Mistakes, feat. Matt Kwan
Listen now
Description
This week, Brother Matt joins us again to break down common Jiu-Jitsu mistakes such as failing to regulate tension, failing to fight for the inside channel, failing to manage the distance, failing to set goals, believing your coach knows everything, and failing to clear your trademark with JT Torres. Follow Matt on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/onguardbjj Join the On Guard BJJ Online Academy: https://onguardbjj.com/p/online Resources mentioned in this episode: The Fastest Way: To Become An Effective Guard Passer (No Gi), by John Danaher https://bit.ly/3wnnXKz Longstep Masterclass, by Tainan Dalpra https://bit.ly/42YJSEh Mental models discussed in this episode: Staying Loose https://bjjmentalmodels.com/staying-loose/ Constant and Variable Tension https://bjjmentalmodels.com/constant-and-variable-tension/ Force Compression https://bjjmentalmodels.com/force-compression/ Inside Channel Control https://bjjmentalmodels.com/inside-channel-control/ Controlling the Distance https://bjjmentalmodels.com/controlling-the-distance/ Seated vs. Supine Guards https://bjjmentalmodels.com/seated-vs-supine-guards/ Layers of Guard https://bjjmentalmodels.com/layers-of-guard/ Grips Dictate Position https://bjjmentalmodels.com/grips-dictate-position/ Phases of Passing https://bjjmentalmodels.com/phases-of-passing/ Do What Works https://bjjmentalmodels.com/do-what-works/ Feedback Loop https://bjjmentalmodels.com/feedback-loop/ Don't forget to check out BJJ Mental Models Premium! If you love the podcast, you'll definitely love our premium membership offerings. The podcast is truly just the tip of the iceberg – the next steps on your journey are joining our community, downloading our strategy courseware, and working with us to optimize your game.  We do all this through memberships that come in at a fraction of the cost of a single private. Sign up here for a free trial: https://bjjmentalmodels.com/ Need more BJJ Mental Models? Get tips, tricks, and breakthrough insights from our newsletter: https://bjjmentalmodels.com/newsletter/ Get nitty-gritty details on our mental models from the full database: https://bjjmentalmodels.com/database/ Follow us on social: https://facebook.com/bjjmentalmodels/ https://instagram.com/bjjmentalmodels/ Music by Enterprize: https://enterprize.bandcamp.com/
More Episodes
Published 04/08/24
This week we're joined by Stuart Cooper!  Stuart is best known for his incredible Jiu-Jitsu documentaries, but he's also an outstanding black belt with a deadly guard passing game.  In this episode, Stuart joins us to discuss some of the best styles and strategies for passing the guard. Follow...
Published 04/08/24
We're giving you a bonus episode because yesterday's release was an April Fools' Day joke. 🤣 This episode is the second in a new BJJ Mental Models Premium series: Grappling With Confidence.  In this episode, we're joined by breakout star and 2023 ADCC European champion Jozef Chen!  Jozef...
Published 04/02/24