Reviews
Could be longer, keep up the good work Steve.
brenf-ios via Apple Podcasts · Singapore · 01/15/19
I have been a subscriber for over a year (two years?) and once enjoyed the brief overview of the events of the day presented in a calm, dispassionate manner. However, of late, I can no longer listen to the one-sided politics reporting passing as “news.” Often it isn’t so much what is said...
CateO1977 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/09/19
Content plays about 2x as fast as normal. Everything is sped up, and the commentators sound like chipmunks. Sounds like the guy at the end of a drug commercial telling you about the 1000 side effects in 3 seconds
Tsxtasy via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/09/19
I listen every day. I want to pull you up on the Trump wall report this morning. About the policeman that got killed and was used by Trump last night to spread fear. The policeman was also an immigrant right. So am I. I went through the legal process in order to be here. Presumably so did...
pauljquilter via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/09/19
No longer provides impartial views. It used to be a great tool to just hear the facts and let listeners think about the meaning of information. I keep thinking it will revert again as NPR has always been impartial in my eyes. Unsubscribing. What a waste of time.
Xis1111 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/08/19
This podcast is a really great current events overview to start anyones day
taranlichtenberger via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/08/19
I listen to Up First every morning. I even miss it on the weekends! I like that some world news is often included. The hosts are clear and thorough, and often funny too. I really do think it’s “the news you need to start your day.”
Jtb55667733 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/08/19
Rachel and Steve have given to telling their opinions...it almost feels like they can’t help it and are letting their hatred seep into the pod cast. I use to turn to NPR to get the unbiased facts....no longer that place unfortunately.
S.ArnzenCurtis via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/08/19
Have been listening since day one.
Twitter-@himzach via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/07/19
I have been listening every weekday for the past few months on my walk to the train every morning and recommend Up First to all of my high school students to stay informed. Nyt's podcast is little long to listen to every day, but this is the perfect length to keep kids' interests (and the...
ru48669 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/07/19
It’s a really great and balanced podcast and I listen to it every day - the only tiny downfall is that it is very US-Centric; I’d love to have a little more of a world perspective, but understand the limitations. Thanks for doing all you do NPR!!
Claire ear via Apple Podcasts · Canada · 01/06/19
A critical part of my morning routine
Ozymandias1 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/06/19
This is a great podcast for starting the day. There’s a good mix of national and international content. It’s interesting and to the point and not stupid (like most TV morning news programs!).
kgbourne via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/03/19
Mary Louise Kelly has a speaking voice not particularly well-suited for radio. When I heard her for the first time on Up First about a year ago, she reminded me of David Brinkley, with her overly deliberate phrasing. She also seemed be trying to talk at a lower register than she is capable of. ...
SeldomPoster via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/03/19
I usually listen to Morning Edition while getting ready for work, but there are plenty of days I don’t. This newscast gets me caught up with 3-4 important stories and a lighter note or two in 12-15 minutes. Perfect for my bus ride, waiting for the train, or walking those last few blocks to work....
Greg748 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/03/19
A great way to start each day with the highlights.
Sra84 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/03/19
I listen to this podcast every day. It’s super informative and gives me the news of the day that I need. Excellent journalism.
AlejandroES via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/02/19
I always start my day listening to this podcast. It is excellent and I do listen to many podcasts. This one and NPR Politics are two of my favorite.
Sybil G. via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 01/02/19
I catch this every day! It is one of just two podcasts I listen to without fail, every day.
NoVaYogi via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/29/18
I appreciate this podcast and listen faithfully every morning. I just wish there was a weekend edition (no pun intended). This podcast, in half of the time of the news gets me up to date. If I don’t listen to this, my day doesn’t start. I also appreciate the occasional humor.
Jacqueline531 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/28/18
👍 Just don’t tell me: “this is what I need to know”, in your podcast. Up first is a small part of news I need to know!
GRAZIAAE via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/28/18
JS
I know you guys don’t like Trump or favor right-wing policy but at least try to be non-partisan. I really like the podcast and NPR, as well as WSJ, because both leaning just SLIGHTLY to the left and right. Please keep it that way! Trump does a lot of bad but his administration is also doing so...
............................? via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/28/18
They try to push a liberal agenda. It’s blatantly obvious.
San D Ego via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/28/18
A good overview for the news you’ll encounter the rest of the day, and a useful, quick, catch-up for West-coasters starting 3 hours behind.
aklucius via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/28/18
Honestly, I think these guys do a great job. Not understanding of the negative reviews. This is a short and sweet consolidated news reel that is perfect for listening to while getting ready in the morning. I love the podcast format in that there is a defined beginning and end. I’ve never been a...
Mitch1234 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/27/18
I can’t start a day without it. Quick, high-level yet informative. Love it.
Maevaflave via Apple Podcasts · Canada · 12/27/18
Quick and informative. I really enjoy this podcast. Highly recommend it.
Gastelumfm via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/27/18
I was first drawn to the podcast because of its direct delivery of relevant news. However, the insertion of politics in to stories in which they are not relevant, distracts me from the events and information that I believe is more important.
to2019 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/27/18
Part of my daily routine to get the news. The hosts rotate but are all great. One of my favorite pods.
ScottyDoesn'tKnow via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/25/18
This is my favorite part of my morning routine. I am a big fan of NPR and this concise podcast is the best way to start the day.
Dog Money via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/25/18
Podcasts are great. The ads are great. I heard about and read about RAD. If NPR is going to be a driving force behind disrespecting users with more invasive and typical ad metrics I am not going to contribute my time to listening to NPR properties.
woundedcub via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/24/18
It’s a perfectly executed news summary show!
nathan jacob bilbs via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/24/18
I love how quick this is. I usually listen to it first thing in the morning and I feel like I’m going into the day with information that I don’t have to fish around for or read a ton of sources. If I want I can go to the npr site to read more on each story.
Uses email via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/23/18
Up First, is a great way to start your day. I hear the highlights with a dash of story depth that gets on the right path of current events. Thanks!
warlordbob via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/22/18
You don’t like Trump, I get it, I don’t either. Having said that, it shouldn’t affect the news. Not everything is negative. The migrant caravan, for instance, the reporter in Mexico was talking about the challenges of having all these people at the border trying to get to the US, and the reporter...
Pablo Borjas via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/20/18
The English language is officially doomed - “Have a good one” was used by David Greene this morning. David, you’re killing me! “Have a good one”? Have a good what?? David - I already have a good one, I want a big one.
BeenDrivenCrazy via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/20/18
Still love listening to NPR, Fresh Air, etc. but this is a great quick overview of what’s going on. Never enough info for me but it is a good length (catch-22) so don’t change it! Thank you for producing this great reporting option!
pgrabin1 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/17/18
This show is perfect for starting your day with getting on top of what’s going on in the world with enough depth to understand it but briefly enough that it’s done by the time I’ve showered and dressed.
RLTuy via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/17/18
Very educational but you guys can’t get out of your own way with your biases. Trying to listen to something fair and balanced that’s not Fox News and apparently it’s not NPR
go sox 18 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/17/18
The best!!!
Belgian teacher via Apple Podcasts · Belgium · 12/16/18
my favorite news podcast to start the day with. they tell quick and interesting stories and keep the important issues at the forefront.
SuziBoo via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/14/18
For the reasons stated above and more, WalMart needs to clean up its corporate act. Supporting Vox merely scratches the surface.
Cvkkp via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/13/18
I love that they just tell the news as it is!
KWorth7 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/13/18
Lately the beginning of the podcast is soliciting donations to keep NPR on the air. However, as long as Wal Mart is a sponsor, you will see no money from me. When you drop them OR they pay their workers a living wage I will reconsider. Until then...NOPE!!
Arek1211 via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/13/18
Up First is a quick litmus test for the daily political disputes and disasters front and center in America. I listen to Up First, not for the news, but to see what sound bites and tweets will be dominating American media for the day.
Bartleby the Younger via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/12/18
It keeps getting longer with less news and more commentary. Fourteen minutes of supposed essentials!?!? Trim it to a hard FIVE minutes stem-to-stern inclusive of all underwriting. I’ll listen to my local member station instead.
CloudyMango via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/12/18
Can be listened while commuting, very convenient.
ThuGiiang via Apple Podcasts · Czech Republic · 12/12/18
My dad always plays it before school, during the drive. They’re always so informative, and I love listening to NPR!
Shriyaa Anand via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/10/18
Been listening to this podcast since late 2016 and love the updates on the top news stories and headlines. Makes me a well informed person. :)
Praveen Sriram via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/09/18
Up First is a quick listen that efficiently fills you in on everything happening. I like to listen to this podcast first thing in the morning, as the title suggests, and then maybe listen to The Daily later if I have the time to spend listening to one topic for 20 minutes. I love news update...
Patty Hunt Smith via Apple Podcasts · United States of America · 12/07/18
Do you host a podcast?
Track your ranks and reviews from iTunes, Stitcher and more.
See hourly chart positions and more than 30 days of history.
Get Chartable Analytics »